Kitchen Blog: Sopapilla Cheesecake Bars

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday (hi, sweetie!) And as I do ever year, I cooked him a meal of his choosing. The first time I did this for him was his birthday in 2009, and I had just started learning to cook. My husband, who I guess thought he was dating Julia Child, requested beef wellington. Things were touch-and-go with that meal… my bearnaise sauce was not quite edible. But in 2010 I made him the same meal and it was actually very tasty. Thankfully, I did not have to struggle with beef and pastry again this year… my husband requested white chicken enchiladas. Still a marathon to make, but much easier!

For his birthday dessert, my husband usually requests my basic sour cream cheesecake. Usually everyone in my family requests for me to make them cheesecake for their birthdays – we love cheesecake. This year though, my husband requested a twist on cheesecake – sopapilla cheesecake bars.  Sopapillas are normally found in Mexican restaurants, they’re basically a fried pastry with cinnamon and sugar, and are served with honey. This recipe was a super easy way to get the same great crunchy, cinnamony, sugary taste of sopapillas with sweet cream cheese in between.

You can find the original recipe here. I made a couple of changes to the amount of butter and to the sugar/cinnamon topping below that I’ll do next time based on our results (although my husband loved them just the way they were!)
Sopapilla Cheesecake Bars

  • 2 cans Crescent Rolls
  • 2 (8 oz) packages cream cheese (room temp)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

How to Make

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Unroll 1 can of crescent rolls and lay flat in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. Stretch the rolls to cover the bottom of the pan. Pinch any seams closed (I had a hard time stretching this into my 9×13 pan, so there was some space left on the sides)
  3. In a mixing bowl combine cream cheese, 1 cup sugar and vanilla until combined and smooth.
  4. Spread this over top of the crescent roll.
  5. Unroll your remaining can of crescent rolls and lay this on top of the cream cheese mixture, again, pinching closed any open seams.
  6. Pour your melted butter on top of the crescent roll.
  7. In a bowl mix the remaining sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkle evenly on top of butter.
  8. Bake for 30 minutes until top is golden brown.
  9. Let cool for approximately 20 minutes and then put in refrigerator to completely chill before cutting into squares.

As you can see – we kept his birthday classy with paper plates, hah!

But really, these were so amazingly delicious, and you only had to eat a small sliver to be totally satisfied. Although we did not eat small slivers ourselves and we also found it very hard not to go back for seconds… and thirds. We will definitely make these again!

One thought on “Kitchen Blog: Sopapilla Cheesecake Bars

Leave a Reply

